On TurboFire, the Farmer’s Market, and Summer Snow

4 04 2011

TurboFire:

As you well know, I’m trying to get a healthier and TurboFire is one step in that process.  Sometimes, it kicks my booty!   There are two work outs in particular that get me every time – The Fire 55 EZ and the HIIT workouts.

Fire 55 EZ is lying.  It is not EZ.  It’s 55 minutes of cardio.  holy cow.  The HIIT workouts are between 15 and 30 minutes and they are High Intensity Interval Training.  Basically, one minute of crazy intense followed by one minute of rest.  I pretty much hyperventilate through the whole thing.  By the time it’s over, I’m usually dizzy and sore and starving – and looking like this:

But I know it’s paying off.  I mean, I can actually do an hour of cardio with minimal whining.  Today’s workout is the Fire 45 EZ.  Again, not EZ.

The Farmer’s Market:

I went with my friend Jessica to the farmer’s market at OSU-OKC’s campus on Saturday morning.  I LOVED IT!  The atmosphere was so much fun.  The people were super nice.  And the stuff I bought is amazing!  I definitely spent more on items than I could justify at the supermarket, but I like knowing I’m supporting people, not a corporation.  The cheese I bought is fabulous.  It’s Basil White Cheddar.  The couple that sells them make all kinds.  Come Saturday, I’m getting more! If you want to come to the market, let me know.  This Saturday at 10 am!!! Be there or be square!  My spoils:

Summer Snow:

I worked my first two real shifts at Summer Snow over the weekend.  It was quite a bit of fun, actually.  I’m excited about spending time with some friends and playing with flavor combinations.  I’m not excited about the machine jamming.  That just stresses me out.  Come out and see me on Saturdays and Sundays.  3-4 pm is Happy Hour – Half Price snow cones.  It’s on 23rd St, between Rockwell and Council in the AppleGlade shopping center.  Find Summer Snow on Facebook for specials and pricing.

Still working on the “Jill Nelson is Your Daddy” specialty snow cone.

This Day in History:

1968: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. is assassinated.

“I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word in reality. That is why right, temporarily defeated, is stronger than evil triumphant.” – MLK

Dr. King is one of those men I would love to have met.  His passion and intensity and unrelenting drive to do what is right actually changed things.  He was a crucial part of a movement that shifted America’s thinking.  Even after his death, he still inspires change and equality.  He’s an inspiration for me.

I think it only fitting, that we take a minute to reflect on our society today:  Do we recognize how far we’ve come from the hatred and inequality that dominated our social systems?  Do we recognize how much further we have to go?  Do we live waiting on the world to change or do we become, as Gandhi said, the change we wish to see in the world?

I want to be the change.  I’ll live like I am changed.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

