The wonders of Facebook

7 04 2011

I’m going to tell you a tale of how I met my brother (new sitcom, yes?).  This is a true story.  I”m really not sure how we haven’t been on tv yet.

I’ve known my whole life that I have an older brother named Jason.  It was never a secret, but I had never met him.  In high school, one of my assignments was a genealogy.  I included Jason in it.  My mom knew a little bit about him: he lived around Wichita and had at least one child.  It was about this time that I began thinking how awesome it would be to meet my brother.

Then came Myspace.  I looked for a “Jason Nelson” in Wichita a million times.  No luck. Then came Facebook.  I looked for a “Jason Nelson” a million more times.  No luck.  Then one day, as my facebook status, I put, “Little known fact about me: I have a brother I’ve never met.”  I was amazed at how many people responded with similar stories.  But my cousin Holly blew me away.

She asked me if I knew anything about him.  I told her what I knew.  Her response?  She already knows all that!!  His name is Jason HOLDER, not Nelson!!!   He’s on Facebook!!  Holy cow!  I found my brother!!!!

So, on October 6, 2009, I sent Jason the life-changing FB message.  This is what it said: “well, I think you are my brother. jack is my father. and you’re friends with Holly Pierce who is my cousin.”  In retrospect, I should have softened the blow.  It took a couple of days before I got a response.  But it was Nina, Jason’s wife, that responded.  Jason, understandably, was shocked.  Nina helped bridge that gap for us.  I probably should have told my other siblings what I was doing: they were shocked when Nina found them and introduced herself.  I guess I just got caught up in the moment.

We talked through facebook for a while, then we exchanged phone numbers and text back and forth.  Then, one day, we actually talked on the phone. The first time I ever heard my brother’s voice!  It was great.

Then, in January of 2010, Beccah and I loaded the car and made the trek to Kansas to actually meet our brother and his amazing family.  Let me tell you all about them:

Jason: the brother.  He’s funny and jumped right in on the I’m-the-brother-and-I’ll-pick-on-you-if-I-want-to bandwagon.  But seriously, he’s a pretty funny dude.  I know there’s a lot to learn about one another, but don’t feel like missing all those years hurt us one bit.  He’s my brother and that’s that.   He builds airplanes for a living (says he hates it), and has a pretty awesome custom truck.  I just love my brother!!

Nina: the sister (in-law).  She is a major part of why all this awesome-ness has happened.  She was able to help all of us get used to the idea of all these new changes.  And she went so above and beyond to make us (including Abelard) feel welcome in their home.  She’s a great woman and mother. I sure hope Jason knows how lucky he is!

Alexah: the niece.  Man, I love this girl!  She’s just amazing.  Yes, she’s a teenager and I hear horror stories from Jason and Nina, but she’s my niece and she’s awesome.  She runs track and just made the JV team.  I’m one proud Aunt.

Jaden: the nephew.  This kid loves him some nerf guns.  He’s got a full arsenal.  I enjoy a good nerf fight.  One of my favorite things is that he invited us to watch him take his first communion.  It meant a lot to be there.  I know how big of a moment that was for him and the whole family.  I’m glad I got to be a part 🙂

Alaney: the niece.  This girl is insane.  She tries to steal my phone and text message random people with it.  She also cracks up every time I say “chipo-po.”  She’s very affectionate and quite silly.  And positively adorable.

I’m very blessed.  I had no idea that 8 years ago, one assignment would have such an impact on me.  I had no idea that I would actually get to meet my brother.  I had no idea that he and his family would be so amazing.  Here’s our first family picture:

Laney, Bec, me, Lyndon (thier nephew), Jason, Lexi, Nina, and Jaden

I’m a lucky girl.

Today in History:

I thought I’d give you some insight into my personal history 🙂

2010: I emailed this article I wrote to Megan Alba regarding how Christians should understand creation:

Creation Care is a touchy issue for many people, especially when it is connected to our faith. I have met some who believe that doing good for the environment is only a political issue, others that think it is only a religious issue, and still others that don’t think it is an issue at all. I have heard many Christians argue that caring about creation isn’t Christian, but it’s, at best, trendy and, at worst, pagan. However, I believe that the Bible has much to say about how we should care for our world and how highly our God values His good Earth. 

“In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.” God created it. Everything in our world from amoeba to antelope, potatoes to people is an expression of the creativity of God. After each creative act, God calls His creation good. And on the sixth day of creation, after God creates human and animal life, God looks at all of creation and saw it collectively as “very good.” True, God gave the first humans “dominion” over the rest of creation, but do not understand that as “domination.” J. Matthew Sleeth, an evangelical environmentalist, notes in his book Serve God, Save the Planet:

Dominion comes from a Hebrew word meaning “higher on the root of a plant.” Dominion does not mean ownership or even unrestricted use. Implied in our dominion is our dependency on everything under us. Cut the root out from under a plant and the fruit above it will perish, despite its superior position. (page 21)

I think this understanding of our gift (and that is exactly what it is) of dominion over the earth will help us properly care for it. We are a good part of God’s very good creation. We are charged with the care of the masterpiece of the Artist and we ought to take that seriously. We also ought to remember that someday Christ will return and we will have to give back that which was trusted to our care.

My message is not political. I am not here to convince you to believe this, that, or the other about climate change, pollution, the rain forest, or landfills. However, our opinions on these topics (and thousands of others related to them) must be borne out of the belief that God created this world and cares for it deeply. So much so, that the culminating vision of Revelation 21-22 is God setting up His Kingdom on Earth! God made the earth for us and us for the earth.

“The earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof!” May the warm sun, the singing birds, the little children, and the sound of rain remind us that our God is creative and creating. May we see the handiwork of our Lord in everything that lives, moves, and has being. May a stone polished by the rushing waters remind us of the slow and sure process of salvation in our lives. May the wind rushing through the trees remind us of God’s constant yet invisible presence. May the changing of the seasons demonstrate that, though death may come, new life is certain. And may we never underestimate the love that God has, not only for us, but for all that has ever been in Divine Imagination – and may we begin to love as God does.

2009: Alec sent me a link to his Alec Sprinkle for IPHC Bishop 2041 campaign.  He had posted some videos.
Today’s blog is brought to you by the letter ‘E’ for Earth – love it, respect it, and, for goodness’ sake, be nice to it!!
Actions

Information

5 responses

7 04 2011
Alec Sprinkle

Family picture is broken …

7 04 2011
Alec Sprinkle

Wow … today in history was pretty important … in 2009.

8 04 2011
jillnelson

dang it! I’ll get that fixed. 2010 was important, too. If you are a tree hugger and love God….

8 04 2011
mom

Very nice story…did you tell him I took his lunch ticket in high school? And I see NO family picture…..

8 04 2011
mom

found the picture!

Leave a Reply

