On The End of the World and Crap Spam Email I Get…Grrrr

20 05 2011

The End of the World:

So, I think it’s pretty safe to say that anyone who thinks they know the exact date of the end of the world can be called crazy.  The world will not end tomorrow, so you can relax.  Mr. Camping is old and likely a little bored – and he’s predicted the End before and was wrong.  I don’t really know how he has gotten so many people to believe it again.  I also don’t know why he’s still taking donations on his website – maybe because he knows he’s just a little bit lying a lot. 

Just maybe.

But, there are some things I would like to add here that might make some sense of the Christian understanding of the End and why it’s hopeful – not super de-duper scary.

When I was little, I used to pray that Jesus wouldn’t come back because I had things to do – a slumber party, a school program, etc.  Things that were fun and that didn’t need to be ruined by Jesus ridin’ in on a cloud. When I was a teenager, I prayed that he’d hold off long enough for me to go to college, get married, have a family, etc.  I know I’m not the only person who has certain things she wants to experience or do before the End.  Everyone has a bucketlist.

But I think this bucketlist betrays what I really believe about God and heaven and Jesus and the whole shi-bang (or at least, used to believe): I would rather do some alright stuff that sounds exciting over meeting my creator (you know, the one I say I serve).

BUT

When I started recognizing evil in this world, understanding oppression, watching death and decay eat away at this good creation, I realized that this world is fallen.  I mean knocked-over-the-head-fall-on-its-face-kicked-in-the-side-left-for-dead fallen. And this world needs to be picked up, brushed off, washed and wrapped, and told she’s beautiful: and there’s only one person that can do that – Jesus. 

I think this is what the author of Revelation meant when he said, “Even so, come quickly.”  He wasn’t concerned with “well I don’t get to _______,” but he recognized this world needs to be set right.  Right now, we wait.  But we don’t sit around, like John Mayer*, waiting on the world to change.  We live as though we have been changed.  We know that all will be set right in the End – all injustices righted, all sad things made untrue (thank you, Samwise).  But for now, we live our lives – going to college, getting married, going to slumber parties – knowing that this may do for now, but it’s not what we’re hoping for.

Crap Spam Email I Get…Grrr

Now for something entirely different.

I hate all the dating site emails I get.  It’s not enough that I know I’m single.  Suddenly, the entire internet knows and is preying for my money!  Whether it be Senior Singles, Asian Singles, or (from today) blackpeoplemeet.com I have only one thing to say: I’m not going to use a dating site.  It’s not my style.

So, dear whoever is selling my email for profit or to poke fun at the 27-year-old single gal, stop.  I spam you every time!  Love, Jill

*I happen to love every other John Mayer song.  This one is just lazy and I hate that some people have made it their anthem.

Actions

Information

One response

20 05 2011
mom

Awesome Jill! You tell ’em!

Leave a Reply

