You want me to do WHAT?!?!???

6 06 2011

As He was setting out on a journey, a man ran up to Him and knelt before Him, and asked Him, “Good Teacher, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?”  And Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good except God alone.  “You know the commandments, ‘Do not murder, Do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not bear false witness, Do not defraud, honor your father and mother.'”  And he said to Him, “Teacher, I have kept all these things from my youth up.”  Looking at him, Jesus felt a love for him and said to him, “One thing you lack: go and sell all you possess and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me.”  But at these words he was saddened, and he went away grieving, for he was one who owned much property.  And Jesus, looking around, said to His disciples, “How hard it will be for those who are wealthy to enter the kingdom of God!”  – Mark 10: 17-23

 

I used to think (and I’m pretty sure I’ve said it out loud) that if Jesus ever asked me to sell all I have that it would pretty much suck.  Well, I’m kind of at the place now where that has happened.  Going to Colombia is changing everything.  At first I thought, “I’ll just get a storage unit.”  Then I realized that costs money and if I sell my stuff I raise money……hmmmm.  So I’m selling some stuff.

I’ve noticed that most people don’t understand why I’m doing this.  There are several reasons why I think I should.  A list?  Of course!!

1. Why should my stuff sit in storage for a year when someone could make good use out of it?

2. Why should I pay for a storage unit?  Seems like a waste of resources to me.

3. I don’t want to be bound by my possessions.  I want to know that at any minute, I can let them go.  The best way to do that is to just let them go.

4. Jesus says it is hard for the rich to get into heaven.  By American standards, I’m not rich.  But in the grand scheme of things, I am loaded.  And I don’t want that wealth to hinder my relationship with God.  You’ve read my posts on budgeting right?  Well, if not you should.  You can hear the anxiety talking – all over things.  If getting rid of my couches frees up some of my anxiety, then I should have done this a long time ago!

5. So, for now at least, I’m not selling everything.  Just a lot of things. I’m keeping books I’ll use for school, things I’ll need for cooking when I get back, and some clothes.  A few other odds and ends as well.  But, for the rest I just can’t find a practical purpose for holding onto.  So it goes bye-bye.

So basically, when Jesus says “sell all you have” it’s really not all that bad.  My guess is that if the guy in the story would have just done what Jesus said, he wouldn’t have been sad for long – and he’d be happier for longer.  It’s just stuff.  And you can’t take it with you.

Actions

Information

One response

7 06 2011
mom

I like this honey. Can you tag them so I’ll be sure to read them everyday?

Leave a Reply

