Now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for: a blog from somewhere other than Miami

13 07 2011

I made it to Bogota!  Finally!

Immigration went smoothly enough.  My bag didn’t make to Bogota, though.  I was originally going through Panama, but that didn’t pan out so I rerouted through Bogota (which was the original original plan).  My bag didn’t get caught in the reroute.  So, it will be flown into Barranquilla tomorrow morning.  By this time tomorrow, everything should calm down.

When I got to Bogota, I tried to find internet connection somehow.  Most people didn’t know what I was asking (language barrier), and, if they did, I didn’t know what they were telling me back. Eventually, I found a “wifi zone” and was able to connect for about 8 minutes.  Long enough to learn that my flight to Barranquilla leaves at 630, but not long enough to learn which airline.  Here’s where it gets tricky.

I decide standing around yelling at the internet in my head isn’t going to make it work.  My best shot is to go to the ticket gates of the two airlines I remember hearing most about and just see if I’m booked.  Me not speaking Spanish is a bad thing.  No one understood what I was asking.  Finally, a lady in line overheard me and translated for me.  All sorted – I’m on Aries.  The worst part of everything is that they took my nail polish through security.  I think she just liked the color.  Makes me sad.  It was good polish.

After all that, I got a subway sandwich for like 19,000 pesos.  I’m not sure how that works out in USD, but I was hungry.  I don’t really care.  The only new development since I started writing is that I plan to write a blog completely in Spanish at some point.  That would be awesome. Oh, and this terminal smells like gasoline.  It’s giving me a headache.

Adios!

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 07 2011
mom

You crack me up girl!! I look forward to hearing from you tonight at sometime. WE love you!!!

13 07 2011
Martha

How wonderful that you are well on your way to your destination & no longer a resident of Florida! So thankful we all have a way to hear about you adventures & be entertained by your humor!! Love Ya Jill! Good luck with the spanish blog! Adios indeed!

Leave a Reply

