a brief update with some photos!

16 07 2011

My suitcase finally arrived. The airport delivered it to the house. It was a bit strange not going to the airport yesterday, but it was also kind of nice. For the first time in a week, I wasn’t at an airport. I thought that day would never come.

Yesterday I visited the school. It was wonderful. I was introduced to all the classes. The younger kids could not believe that I don’t know Spanish. The older kids were fairly disinterested in me. The middle kids were totally intrigued by me. They had so many questions. When I left the sixth grade class, my translator said the boys were all saying, “bye, my love!” During lunch, I was surrounded by around 15 children that wanted to start my Spanish lessons. They had me saying everything from star to flute. I’m not 100% certain what they were having me say. I was assured it was nothing bad.

I went to the mall last night. This mall is a billion times nicer than any mall I have seen in America. It is four stories in two buildings. It’s classy and awesome. I kind of want to be there all the time.

So, when Monica introduced me to the school and some members of the church, she said that I will be staying for four months….. I guess they only need me this one semester. Perhaps that will change by the time November rolls around. I am prepared to stay for at least a year, so we shall see what happens. I must have misunderstood or assumed or something. Oh well. Four months or a year or ten years: this is an experience of a lifetime and I will take in every minute!

For those of you who are curious, I do have an air conditioner in my room. I only run it at night to save costs. Right now, I’m in my room and I have a fan going, but I’m probably melting. All I know is I won’t be complaining in Oklahoma (at least not for a while). Here are some pictures of mi casa.

my bedroom

my dining room

my living room

So,I was thinking, when this is all over, I can start my life in the states back up wherever I want. I will have so much freedom of choice! What are your thoughts? Where should I go (Stilwell is not an option, sorry!)?

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 07 2011
Brandi

I’m so glad you’ve made it and the kiddos love you (of course they would!) I hate that you sold all your stuff and you might only be gone for four months. Let’s cross our fingers that you get to stay longer, if you wish, and that you love it! Please keep posting pictures and I want to see this mall you speak of!! Love you!!!

17 07 2011
Kendra (your favorite neice)

Aunt Jill i love and miss you! So glad you made it too Columbia. Cant wait too see you at Christmas(:

19 07 2011
Diane Bradley

So very proud of you Jill. Your blog here is wonderful and so glad your getting to do what God has called you to do. I don’t blame you for getting out of Dodge so to speak. We all have wanted that but until were sent out to do other things God wants to be here and do his work. Were all studying here at the house online and through dvd studies like homeschooling, but with a certificate of full credits. God bless you Jill.

Leave a Reply

