Oh, so homesick

4 08 2011

I’m beginning to feel the pangs of homesickness. It’s not that I don’t want to be here, it’s just that I’d like to go home for the weekend and then come right back to it. Well, here is the list I made at church tonight of 23 things I miss. It is no particular order:

1. Knowing the language
2. Abelard
3. Driving
4. New English television (I’m getting caught back up on Friends though – oddly enough, I did the same thing in Kyiv…)
5. redbox
6. snacks in the pantry (mostly oreos)
7. Diet Dr. Pepper
8. Eating at normal times
9. my family
10. text messaging
11. Divine Life
12. baby Jack
13. Chick-fil-a
14. being 80% vegetarian
15. receiving a paycheck
16. my books
17. the Greens
18. Divine Life nursery
19. library dates with Lea Anne
20. the other 3/4 of my wardrobe – BTW – if anyone wants to contribute, I really did NOT bring enough clothing with me (I wear about 2 outfits a day because I’m sweating like a man). I could use some financial contributions. But, if not, I will just deal.
21. independence (aka not asking permission to do something…this is new and challenging)
22. Abelard
23. Abelard

There you have it. I miss home.

 

While I’m at it, I’ll give you the top 10 things I was thankful for this morning. I’m really into lists.

1. my ankles were a normal size when I woke up

2. I was cold last night

3. I don’t have to share a bathroom

4. fans.

5. wireless internet

6. cheese with my breakfast

7. despite my purse’s size, it holds everything I need it to.

8. water

9. the spanish website I found.

10. the very early stages of a tan.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

